A few weeks ago I shared an analysis I completed on the uniform colors of the NCAA football teams. The National Hockey League is starting their regular season this week, so it seemed like a good idea to do the same for the NHL, and see what new color combinations I should think about adding to my Team Colors by Carrie shop.  Luckily, there are only 30 teams in the NHL, so this was a much easier task than looking at the 270 teams I evaluated for the NCAA analysis.

You may remember me complaining about how many shades of red there were … Crimson, Scarlet or Vermilion anyone? But with only 30 teams, that wasn’t a major challenge. And unlike our U.S. colleges and universities, most of the NHL teams stuck with standard colors like Red, Black, Navy Blue or Royal Blue!

It only took me about an hour to look up each team, dump the data into Excel and come to some conclusions (I know I’m a total geek … I love Excel functions and pivot tables).

Here are the most common color combinations for NHL teams:

• Red and Blue (6 teams)
• Red and Black (4)
• Black and Gold (3)
• Blue and Gold (3)
• Green and Black (2)
• Blue and Orange (2)
• Blue and White (2)
• 8 different combinations for the remaining 8 teams

And to give you a visual of just how predominate some colors are in the world of the NHL, here are graphs depicting the frequency of both primary and secondary team colors:

NHL Team Colors
Team Colors for the NHL

The regular season starts tomorrow, October 7th, and runs until the Stanley Cup playoffs next spring. I don’t have a favorite, even though I grew up in the Midwest where hockey was much more prevalent than it is here in the southeastern United States where I live now. I tend to pull for the underdog, when I don’t have a dog in the fight, so we’ll see how the season plays out.

Now, about those 30 reasons you need to start cheering for the National Hockey League? There are 30 teams in the league, 23 in the U.S. and 7 in Canada, so just pick one and get on with it already!

Leave me a comment, and tell me which team you root for!

