christmas-1383518Does it seem like we didn’t even finish treat or treating before moving full steam ahead into the holiday season?  You’ve seen the signs:  the inserts in Sunday’s paper were all advertising early Black Friday sales starting November 1st;  you can now get your morning coffee in the famous holiday Starbucks red cups;  a few local radio stations are already playing Christmas music around the clock;  and the Hallmark channel’s Countdown to Christmas actually kicked off on October 31st!

If you are feeling nostalgic, and remember the days when there was never a hint of red and green in the air until the day after Thanksgiving, you are not alone.  But “Christmas Creep” is real, and I found this definition on Wikipedia to be pretty accurate:  Christmas creep is a merchandising phenomenon in which merchants and retailers exploit the commercialized status of Christmas by introducing Christmas-themed merchandise or decorations before the traditional start of the holiday shopping season on the day after Thanksgiving.  That pretty much says it all doesn’t it?

 

If you are cringing at the thought of Christmas shopping and cookie baking in November, you aren’t alone.  But realize that some people actually christmas-3-1435050like having a longer season.  I found survey results indicating that many shoppers actually like retailers’ ever-earlier holiday push, with many having already started purchasing their holiday gifts.

For those that don’t want to think about Christmas before Thanksgiving, you’ll be happy to know that NBC has purchased the TV rights to “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” and hasn’t yet announced when they’ll air it (unlike some other channels that have already started their holiday line up).  So maybe you’ll get lucky and it won’t be until December, Scrooge!   And yes, I mean the original 1966 version, not the more recent version with Jim Carey!

 

christmas-crochet-1416218

On the other hand, are you one of those people that embrace the holidays, and are anxious to get your holiday shopping done?  If you love giving handmade gifts, you need to check out this Holiday Gift Guide, showcasing the best handcrafted items from members of a group called Flourish that I am pleased to be part of.  I’m excited that several of the items from Team Colors By Carrie on both Etsy and Handmade at Amazon were included!
 
This will be my first holiday season at Team Colors By Carrie, and I admit that I am more than a little nervous.  I don’t know what to expect, and while I am hoping people love my products and buy a lot of them as Christmas gifts, I don’t want to be so busy that I can’t enjoy the holidays with my family and friends.  

Wish me luck!

 

 

