Warning!  Vent alert!  This post is not normal Team Colors materials, so read at your own risk.

When I first heard the news reports about the terrible attacks in Paris on Friday night, I was horrified.  And like many others, I was saddened further by my feelings of helplessness.  After all, what could I possibly do in response?

As the weekend progressed, and we carried on with the activities associated with a family wedding celebration, I have to admit that I had only a tiny twinge of guilt that life was going on as normal for so many of us.  I believe I’ve become a little numb to terrorists attacks, and it does concern me that I may be getting way too used to this.

Anyway, as we all struggled with how to react, many in the global community turned to social media, as evidenced by my Facebook news feed filling up with people changing their profile pics to Blue, White and Red.  I don’t have a problem with that, and am often one of the first to jump on the bandwagon and do the same.

France flag and team colors

If you haven’t done so yet, you may want to update your profile pic with the flags for both France and Lebanon (30 people died there on Thursday, after all, but with much less news coverage).  Here’s a tool called lunapic that allows you to combine 2 flags for a picture that looks something like this:

imageedit_5_7055057641

But at the end of the day, I have to wonder what this “show of support” really accomplishes.  And I’ve come to the sad conclusion that we do it mostly for ourselves.  We want to feel like we’ve done something, even though I doubt that my new profile picture does anything at all to reduce the suffering of those that were affected.

And in another week or so, we’ll return our profiles to the old pictures, and the attacks on France become are just another on an ever-growing long list that includes Madrid, London and Mumbai … something bad that happened in the past, and is too quickly forgotten.

I apologize for the vent, and if you were reading this in hopes that I would have a strong opinion about what we should be doing.  But I don’t pretend to have the answers.  In fact, I am at a complete loss as to what the response should be to these attacks.

I’d love to hear what actions you think we should be taking.

