Yay!  It’s finally Thanksgiving week.  And you know what that means, right?  The Christmas holidays are almost here!

I’m like a little kid when it comes to the holidays, and one of my favorite things are the decorations.  I can’t wait to get my tree up, and have to force myself to wait until after Thanksgiving!  I enjoy looking at all of my cherished ornaments as I take each one out of the box and find the perfect spot for it on the tree.  And don’t you just love sitting near the tree in the evenings, enjoying the soft glow of the lights?

One thing I never worry about is what colors I’m going to use when decorating.  While some people like to change things up every year, I’m a traditional Red and Green kind of girl.  Red and green stocking, red candles nestled in greenery, that kind of thing.  But then we get to the tree (or rather trees, because I have 2 of them).

The “upstairs” tree is on the landing at the top of the front stairs, and can be seen from the street as people pass by the house.  It is all done in white, crystal and silver ornaments.  I think it looks oh, so elegant.  I’ve been doing this tree the same way since we moved into the house 14 years ago, and will probably only stop when we finally downsize and move out.

The other tree is my pride and joy, and is in the family room where we spend most of our time.  This tree is all about my favorite team colors, Green and Gold!  It’s full of Green Bay Packers ornaments, and other decorations I’ve found in those beautiful green and gold colors.  I add new ones every year, both purchased and handmade!

Stay tuned in the following weeks for some DIY instructions for making ornaments when you can’t find any in your favorite colors!

Packer Tree 2014 (3)

It’s become a tradition in our house to leave this tree up for as long as the Packers are in the playoffs.  And once again, we will be hoping that it stays up until after the Super Bowl in February.   Just have to throw in a little “Go Pack Go.”

So what colors do you think make the most beautiful decorating scheme?  If you need some inspiration to get you going this year, I’ve gathered up a variety of examples in both traditional and non-traditional color schemes:

My favorites on HGTV are Green and Brown for a back to nature look, or White and Gold for a simple but classy look:

 

Holiday Color Scheme Blog - HGTV pics

Over on the Better Homes and Gardens site there were so many options that I had trouble narrowing it down, but picked these four: 1) Red, White and Blue; 2) Green, Blue and Silver; 3) Red and Tan; and 4) Red, Cream and White:

Holiday Color Scheme Blog Post - BHG pics

There are some pretty unique ones on Houzz, but here are my favorites:

Blue and Lime

White and Silver

And one I would never even think about, but I thought was very striking, is this Purple and White one from GLO.com:

 

Purple and White

And last but not least, for those that just can’t decide on a color or two, how about a Rainbow Tree from InspiredByCharm:

Rainbow tree

 

So how do you decide on what colors to use in your holiday decorating scheme?   Are you a traditionalist, or the more daring and artistic type?

And I’d love to know if I’m the only whose favorite sports team makes an appearance on the Christmas Tree.  I bet I’m not, so don’t forget that Team Colors By Carrie has a great selection of beaded ornaments in the most popular sports team colors!

