It’s December, and that means most of the Christmas decorating is done at my house, and the rest will be complete over the next day or two.  I can’t wait to finish up, so I can sit back and enjoy it!

Remember last week when I told you that I have two trees?  The upstairs tree is all set up and decorated in the white, crystal and silver ornaments that I love, and looks as fabulous as always.  The downstairs Green and Gold tree, my pride and joy, is taking longer than usual because it is getting a little makeover this year.

It is was a pre-lit tree that I  bought about 3 years ago.  Last year I had to add several strings of lights to fill in for sections that were completely out.  I could not figure out how to get the sections back on (I tried replacing bulbs and fuses), and finally gave up and just added some extra light strings.  Why can’t lights last more than a year or two?  Do the manufacturers choose the cheapo ones, thinking we’ll have to replace the whole tree every few years?  Argh! 

Anyway, the tree itself is pretty nice, so when I was taking it down last year, I spent 3+ hours completely stripping off the attached lights (those little clips are not easy to remove).  I bought all new lights this year, half green and half gold, and got them strung on the tree yesterday.

Today I’ve been working on another little upgrade that I wanted to share with you.

We all love the soft glow of the lights on the tree, but this year I wanted my tree to shine even more than usual.  So I’m adding mirrors to the tree, to reflect all of those lovely lights, and make the tree really sparkle!

I came up with a very easy way to make mirror ornaments, and I’m going to show you how to make some for yourself.

You’ll find a video version at the end of this post, for those that prefer to watch and listen, but here are the written instructions, for easy reference:

Step 1:  Gather your supplies:
P1120749

  • Small mirrors. I found packs of 10 mirrors, in 1” and 0.75” inch, at my local craft store for about $1.  You can use any shape and size, but I wouldn’t go much bigger than 1”.  Keep in mind that it takes 2 mirrors to make each ornament.
  • Adhesive.  I’m using the glue I have for jewelry making, but any glue you have around the house should work fine.    I also have some toothpicks handy, to spread the glue around a little if needed.
  • Thin stringing material for the hanger. I used fishing line, so the hanger wouldn’t be very visible once the ornaments are hung on the tree.  But again, whatever you have around should be fine.

 

Step 2:  Cut your stringing material into lengths of 5-6”.

 

Step 3:  Turn one of the mirrors face down on your work surface, and put some glue on the back side, covering at least half the surface.

P1120752

 

Step 4:  Take 1 piece of the stringing material, and fold it in half to form a loop. Hold the 2 loose ends together, and place them on the glue that’s on the mirror back.

P1120754

 

Step 5:  Take a second mirror, mirror side up, and place it on top of the first mirror (the back sides of the mirrors will be facing each other).

P1120755

 

Step 6:  Push down on the top mirror. This will spread the glue a little, and ensure a good adherence.

P1120756

 

Step 7:  Let the glue dry completely, then use a tissue to clean off the fingerprints before hanging.

P1120757

 

Step 8:  Once dry, hang your little mirror ornaments on your tree. I like the effect of hanging them deep inside the tree, close to the trunk, but you can hang them however you like.

 

If you like this idea, please share with your friends.  And if you try it yourself, I’d love to hear from you!

And watch for next week’s post, because I’ve got another DIY ornament for you.  And this time, you can make it in your favorite sports team’s colors like I did, or in any colors you choose!  But more on that later.

 

And I didn’t forget … here’s that video I promised.  Please don’t laugh, as this is the first time I’ve tried something like this!

 

Do you have your tree up yet?  Don’t forget that Team Colors By Carrie has a wide selection of beaded ornaments that would look right at home on your tree!

