It’s the last week in February, and I’m excited, because that means March Madness is right around the corner (WOO HOO).  I don’t watch a lot of college basketball during the regular season, but once I fill out my bracket and the “First Four” games are underway, I can’t stop watching!  You know I love cheering for the underdog, and there always seems to be at least one Cinderella team that made it to the NCAA tournament.

To get prepared for the tourney, I knew I needed to do some digging into the team colors of NCAA Division I basketball teams. Did you know that there are 351 colleges and universities, across 32 conferences, in Division 1 Basketball?   Wow!

With so many schools, I was really glad that I already had a head start on compiling team colors information.  I completed a similar analysis last fall on the 270 schools in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) of the NCAA  (you can see that post here), so that covered a lot of the teams.

After a few hours of work to get the rest of the teams added to my database, here are the results … the most common color combinations for college basketball teams:

  • Blue and White (36 teams)
  • Red and White (35)
  • Blue and Gold (33)
  • Green and White (19)
  • Black and Gold (18)
  • Red and Black (15)
  • Maroon and White (14)
  • Green and Gold (13)
  • Maroon and Gold (12)
  • Purple and White (12)
  • Red and Blue (11)
  • Purple and Gold (11)
  • Blue and Red (10)

And to give you a visual of just how predominate some colors are in the world of college basketball, here are wordcloud graphics depicting the frequency of team colors.

Primary colors:

Primary colors - NCAA Basketball teams

 

And secondary colors (note I had to show white in light blue, or you wouldn’t be able to see it):

Secondary colors - NCAA Basketball

 

I’ll have to come back and take another look in a few weeks, after the 68 teams that get to play in the tournament have been selected.  Do you think the charts above will represent their colors?

Check back later and find out.  Or better yet, follow the blog to get notification of each week’s new blog post!

Now I need to get moving and make a few new color combinations for the shop, so TeamColorsByCarrie can help you get ready for March Madness!

 

 

