With March Madness approaching, I started thinking about sports fans and how they can show some team spirit at work, and still show up in attire that is appropriate for the workplace.  Dress codes have become much more casual in the past 5 to 10 years, but things like jerseys and t-shirts are still out of the question for most business environments, except maybe on a super casual Friday.  And you don’t want to be THAT sports fan that shows up in her ratty old jersey, just because that’s the only team apparel she owns!

I consider myself to be somewhat of an expert on this subject, because I’ve always loved wearing my Packers green and gold to work, and didn’t always want the “G” logo or the Packers name to be obvious.  I have found that there are many other more subtle ways to show that team spirit at work.

In fact, there was a time when I wore something in my team colors to work every day for almost 2 months straight!  It started with a challenge at the end of the 2010 NFL season.  My Packers were 8-6, and a post-season playoff appearance was looking pretty questionable.  I live in the Atlanta area, so I worked with a lot of Falcons fans, and as things go, we did a lot of trash talking.  Trash talking led to discussions about not only the better team, but also the better fans.

I love my Packers, and decided all of those Falcons fans needed a little lesson in how to be a true fan. I resolved to wear my Green and Gold every day until the Packers season was over (and maybe even beyond, because that’s just the kind of fan that I am)!  Little did I know that me streak wouldn’t be over until after the Super Bowl!

The Packers won their final two regular-season games to finish the season with a 10-6 record, and got the last playoff sport in the NFC. They went on to win road games against the Eagles, the Falcons (you can bet I had a little fun with that one), and the Bears. They beat the Steelers 31-25 in Super Bowl XLV, and I kept wearing my colors for at least another week after that to celebrate!

So how did I pull it off without wearing a team jersey or t-shirt every day?   And how can you start planning for the basketball tournament, so you have something to wear when the First Four round starts in a few weeks?

The easiest things to wear are a simple bracelet or a pair of earrings with the team name or logo on them, or even a scarf or pair of socks (my personal favorites are green and gold stripes).  Or maybe you have lanyard that holds your id badge.  Those are all pretty painless, and most of us fans already own one or more of those items.

I did the simple things sometimes, but most of the time I was also wearing the kinds of clothes I would normally wear, but adjusted to add in my green and gold team colors.   Think about a blazer or loose fitting jacket in dark green, with a yellow shirt or a scarf under it.   Or a green collared blouse underneath a yellow pullover sweater.

You could also stick with wearing neutral colors in your clothing, and adding punches of those team colors with shoes, a belt or a handbag, or a knockout piece of bold, chunky jewelry!

I wish I would have taken pictures to document all of the combinations that I came up with over the years.  But I didn’t, so I’ve pulled together a few examples to give you some ideas.  They all happen to be in Green and Gold (imagine that!), but I may do something similar for other popular team color combinations, to show that any team colors can make it in the workplace!

Here are some ideas to get you started, featuring jewelry from TeamColorsByCarrie, of course (click the links in each picture title):

Green and Gold – Work Wear 1

Green and Gold 1

 

Green and Gold – Work Wear 2

Green and Gold 2

Green and Gold – Work Wear 3

Green and Gold 3

 

Please share a link to this blog post with those co-workers who are THAT sports fan, or anyone else you think might have a little fun with it!

Now before we go, how do you plan to support your favorite college basketball team during their NCAA basketball tournament run?

I’d love to hear from you!

