Happy New Year!   2017 is here!

The New Year has started out really well for me and my favorite football teams.

First, my beloved Green Bay Packers.  It seems like just yesterday that the team was not doing well, and I posted about How to deal with a losing season.  But Aaron Rodgers saw something the outside world did not, and predicted after a 4 game losing streak that the team could run the table.  And run the table they did, improving from a 4-6 record to a 10-6 record and the NFC North Division Championship!

And then yesterday, my Wisconsin Badgers won the Cotton Bowl, beating the Western Michigan Broncos.  On Wisconsin!

Now on to the real topic of today’s post.

I’m continuing my series of team spirit craft projects for the do-it-yourselfer.  A few weeks ago I showed you how to create these easy Team Spirit bracelets, using embroidery thread.

7b-wrap-and-tie

This week I’m sharing another bracelet project using embroidery thread, this time with a button closure that makes them a little easier to put on and take off.

finished-pic-1

 

So let’s get started:

Step 1 – The Supplies

You can find all of these things at your local craft store:

  • 2 or 3 skeins of Embroidery thread
    • choose your favorite team colors
    • you can add white or black as a 3rd color if desired
  • A small button (1 per bracelet)
  • Sharp scissors (not shown)
  • A ruler (not shown)
  • Tape or a safety pin (not shown)

pic-1-supplies

 

Step 2 –Measure, Cut and Knot the thread

  • Cut 36” lengths of each thread – you need 3 threads, and I used 2 red and 1 white
    • I’ve found the easiest way to measure is to wrap the thread around a 12” ruler 3 times
  • Gather the thread together, and fold in half

 

Step 3 – Create a loop in one end

  • Tie a simple overhand knot near the folded end, creating a loop big enough to go over your button

 

Step 4 – Anchor the loop and lay out the threads

  • Tape the loop to your work surface
  • OR pin it to something that won’t move, like the arm of a chair or your pants leg (this is a great option for sitting in your favorite chair and watching TV)
  • Spread your strings apart, keeping the 2 threads of each color together

 

Step 5 – Braid

  • Start braiding by bring the right side threads over the middle threads
  • Then bring the left side threads over the middle threads.
  • Repeat this process to braid (right side to the middle, then left side to the middle)
  • TIP: keep the braid even by holding all of the threads in your hands, and lightly pulling on them as you braidpic-5d
  • Continue until you have enough braid to reach around your wristpic-5e

     

  • NOTE: I wear a 6.5” bracelet, so I braided until I had 6.5” (including the loop)

pic-5f

 

Step 6 – Tie a knot and add the button

  • Tie a knot at the end of the braidpic-6a
  • Remove the tape holding down the loop of the braid
  • Split the threads into 2 groups (or 4 groups if your button has 4 holes)
  • Thread each group through a hole in the button
    • It may help to wet the threads and twist them a bit.
    • I pop the ends in my mouth to do this.

pic-6b

  • Slide the button down the threads until it is right next to the knotpic-6c
  • Tie a double knot on top of the buttonpic-6d
  • Trim the threads

pic-6e

 

Step 7 – Wrap and button it on!

  • Wrap the braid around your wrist
  • Place the loop over the button
  • Slide the button and loop to the back

 

Here is what the bracelet will look like in 2 colors or 3 colors:

pic-8-optional-3-color

 

I made my bracelets in Red, White and Black, as I was preparing to watch my Badgers in the Cotton Bowl yesterday.  What colors will you use? Comment below and let me know!

 

Until next week,

Carrie

 

P.S.  I’ve got a few more bracelet and other team spirit projects planned, and you’ll find at least one that you’ll want to make in your favorite team colors!  Be sure you are subscribed to the blog, so you don’t miss anything J

