Hello fellow sports fans!  Did you catch a game over the Memorial Day weekend?  There’s nothing like a good baseball game to officially kick off the summer.  Or did you prefer to skip the baseball, and anxiously await the start of the NHL or NBA finals?

No matter what your sports choices over the weekend, I do hope you took at least a moment to remember that Memorial Day is about much more than picnics and a day off from work.

I’ve always been one to get a little teary eyed when I see the stars and stripes waving in the breeze, but I don’t really know what drives me to be so patriotic.  I’m sure it’s partly because of the way I was raised, and that both of my grandfathers served our country during WWII.  And I’m sure my patriotism became even stronger when my youngest son announced that he wanted to join the United States Army (proud Army mom here!).

So for today’s post, which I’m writing on Memorial Day, I wanted to share some of that patriotism with you.  I decided to do that by sharing some of my favorite quotes and sayings that I hope will inspire a little patriotic spirit in you:

 

Patriotic Quotes (1)Patriotic Quotes (2)Patriotic Quotes (3)Patriotic Quotes (4)Patriotic Quotes (5)Patriotic Quotes (6)Patriotic Quotes (8)Patriotic Quotes (9)Patriotic Quotes (10)Patriotic Quotes (11)

I have to admit that I really enjoyed creating these images, and I hope that they stirred as much emotion in you as they did in me!  Did you have a favorite?

Please feel free to share them, because they are perfect for Memorial Day, Flag Day, Independence Day, Veteran’s Day, and probably a few other patriotic holidays I missed!

Now, some of you are probably wondering what happened to the sports team spirit and team colors themes I usually post about.  But don’t worry!  This sideline toward everything Red, White and Blue is just a temporary distraction (and we are all part of Team USA, after all).    I’ll be back with some new team spirit ideas and crafts before you know it, so stay tuned!

 

Until next week,

Carrie

