I am a Pinterest junkie!

If the first step is admitting you have a problem, there’s nothing like doing so in a public confession.  Of course that would suggest that I want to cure this addiction I call “pin-crazy”, but that is not the case, because I really love Pinterest.

If you don’t know what all the fuss is about, Pinterest is a visual bookmarking tool that helps you discover and save creative ideas from all over the web (like an electronic corkboard or file folder).  You create boards to categorize your pins, and add descriptions to remind you of why you bookmarked them in the first place (“Read this before I attempt to paint the kitchen cabinets,” or “This would be a fun birthday gift for Susie”).  Pins link back to the website where they appeared, so you can easily access them later.

 

I started using Pinterest mostly for personal stuff, but have also found it a great way to connect with other crazy sports fans and share ideas for everything involved in celebrating the sports and teams that have our hearts.

You probably realize that I am all about the food when it comes to game day, and I have quite a few boards with loads of recipes and ideas.  My favorite is Game Day Food, but you will also find more specific kinds of ideas in Game Day Snacks, Game Day Breakfast, Game Day Dips and Game Day Healthy Recipes.

Game Day Food

You’ll find fashion inspiration for your game day apparel in the boards called Game Day Style, College Game Day Style and Game Day Outfits.

Game Day Style

For those that have specific sports interests, I’ve got boards dedicated to each sport, including We Love Baseball, We Love Basketball, We Love Football, We Love Hockey, We Love NASCAR and We Love Soccer (with more to come).

We Love Football

 

A Pinterest board is a great way to collect gift ideas as you see them, like my Gifts for Sports Fans board.  Save a link to that shirt for mom as a pin, and you’ll be able to find it later when you need to start your holiday shopping

Gifts for sports fans

Another great use for a Pinterest board is vacation planning.  I have one board for my travel bucket list (Places to Go), but you can also create a board when getting ready for a specific trip.  I created Southern Highlands a few years ago when getting organized for a 2 week long road trip adventure in the mountains of Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina.  It was a great way to capture things to see, places to stay, and things we wanted to do!

Southenr Highroads board

I saved the best for last, and those that know me well won’t be surprised to see that I have a board dedicated to all things PackersGo Pack Go is all about player and game day pictures, historical pictures, and anything and everything related to my favorite team.  And it also happens to one of the boards with the most followers, because there are a lot of other crazy Packer fan out there!

Go Pack Go board

I hope my examples gave you some ideas about how you could use Pinterest if you aren’t already doing so.  Sign up, search for a topic or two that interests you, and start pinning.  Follow a few people who are pinning the kinds of things that you like, and you’ll always see their new pins in your home feed every time you log in.  Need help?  Pinterest has a basic users guide to get you started: All About Pinterest.

Come on over to Pinterest, and join me in my addiction!  I’ll see on the boards!

 

Until next week,  

Carrie

